News

Green barometer for hospitals in the Netherlands

After surgery, an imposing amount of waste piles up that has to be disposed. Sounds logical at first, doesn't it? Nevertheless, hospitals have to be one hundred percent sterile to ensure patient safety.
2. November 2023
Blog post image header

Green barometer for hospitals in the Netherlands

After surgery, an imposing amount of waste piles up that has to be disposed. Sounds logical at first, doesn’t it? Nevertheless, hospitals have to be one hundred percent sterile to ensure patient safety.

The Dutch Nationale Green OK Network is now challenging us to rethink the consumption of single-use products and to focus on reuse and sustainability.

Therefore, the network is working on a “Green Barometer”  a checklist to measure sustainability in the operation theatre. Currently it’s in the test phase but will probably be applied in all hospitals in the Netherlands.

“At home, we separate the trash, in the hospital we throw everything together. Something has to change. In 2030 we have to be CO2 neutral,” says Frank Willem Jansen, chairman of the National Green OK Network and professor of gynaecology at Leiden University Medical Center and professor of biomedical engineering at TU Delft.

The barometer takes many aspects in consideration, especially the amount of waste in the operating theatre. “We need to challenge industry to replace disposable instruments with reusable ones,” says Jansen.

But it is not only the industry that should be held responsible. There is also an appeal to politicians to adjust the legal requirements for disposable products. According to Jansen, the only reason for the current practice is commerce. After all, the circular economy is feasible, but largely not wanted.

That is why the barometer is being launched – for awareness and a greener and safe OR.

 

New Posts

Vanguard AG wins Climate Saver Award 2024!

Vanguard AG wins Climate Saver Award 2024!

On June 11, 2024, we were awarded first place in the "Small Institutions/Companies" category at the Climate Saviour Award ceremony in Leverkusen. The event took place on the premises of Pronova BKK, and we are incredibly proud that our outstanding team performance in...

Clean Solution: Our laboratory specializes in technical hygiene

Clean Solution: Our laboratory specializes in technical hygiene

Today, we're providing an insider's view into our operations. As you review the "Tasks and Test Areas of the Laboratory," you'll notice numerous abbreviations, technical terms, and standards. Our work adheres to strict standards and procedures, ensuring a safe...

News

Grünes Barometer für Krankenhäuser in den Niederlanden

Nach einer Operation türmt sich eine beträchtliche Menge an Abfall auf, der entsorgt werden muss. Klingt zunächst logisch, oder? Schließlich müssen Krankenhäuser hundertprozentig steril sein, um die Sicherheit der Patienten zu gewährleisten.
2. November 2023
Blogbeitrag Bild Kopfbereich

Grünes Barometer für Krankenhäuser in den Niederlanden

Nach einer Operation türmt sich eine beträchtliche Menge an Abfall auf, der entsorgt werden muss. Klingt zunächst logisch, oder? Schließlich müssen Krankenhäuser hundertprozentig steril sein, um die Sicherheit der Patienten zu gewährleisten.

Das niederländische Nationale Green OK Network fordert uns jetzt heraus, den Verbrauch von Einwegprodukten neu zu überdenken und sich auf Wiederverwendung und Nachhaltigkeit zu konzentrieren.

Das Netzwerk arbeitet daher an einem „Grünen Barometer“ – einer Checkliste zur Messung der Nachhaltigkeit im Operationssaal. Sie befindet sich derzeit noch in der Testphase, wird aber bald an alle Krankenhäuser in den Niederlanden gesendet werden.

„Zu Hause trennen wir den Müll, im Krankenhaus werfen wir alles zusammen. Das muss sich ändern. Bis 2030 müssen wir CO2-neutral sein“, sagt Frank Willem Jansen, Vorsitzender des National Green OK Network und Professor für Gynäkologie am Leiden University Medical Center sowie Professor für Biomedizintechnik an der TU Delft.

Das Barometer berücksichtigt viele Aspekte, insbesondere die Menge an Abfall im Operationssaal. „Wir müssen die Industrie herausfordern, Einweginstrumente durch wiederverwendbare zu ersetzen“, sagt Jansen.

Aber nicht nur die Industrie sollte zur Verantwortung gezogen werden. Es wird auch an die Politiker appelliert, die gesetzlichen Anforderungen für Einwegprodukte anzupassen. Nach Jansen ist der einzige Grund für die aktuelle Praxis der Handel. Schließlich ist die Kreislaufwirtschaft machbar, aber weitgehend unerwünscht.

Deshalb wird das Barometer ins Leben gerufen – für das Bewusstsein und einen grüneren und sichereren OP.

Aktuelle News

Vanguard AG gewinnt Klimaretter-Award 2024!

Vanguard AG gewinnt Klimaretter-Award 2024!

Am 11. Juni 2024 wurden wir bei der Verleihung des Klimaretter-Awards in Leverkusen mit dem ersten Platz in der Kategorie "Kleine Einrichtungen/Unternehmen" ausgezeichnet. Die Verleihung fand in den Räumen der Pronova BKK statt und wir sind unglaublich stolz, dass...

Saubere Lösung: Unser Labor für technische Hygiene

Saubere Lösung: Unser Labor für technische Hygiene

Wer die Liste zu „Aufgaben und Prüfgebiete des Labors“ zu Gesicht bekommt, dem springen Abkürzungen, Fachbegriffe, Paragraphen und Normen in die Augen. Die Arbeit dort folgt strengen Standards und Abläufen und sorgt insgesamt für einen sicheren Aufbereitungsprozess...