News

“Green Surgery” Report: How the UK is Making Operating Rooms More Climate-Friendly

"While climate change threatens human health, healthcare paradoxically contributes to this problem." The Brighton & Sussex Medical School, the Centre for Sustainable Healthcare, and the UK Health Alliance on Climate Change have released a report providing a comprehensive insight into the relationship between healthcare and climate.
28. November 2023
Blog post image header

“Green Surgery” Report: How the UK is Making Operating Rooms More Climate-Friendly

 

“While climate change threatens human health, healthcare paradoxically contributes to this problem.”

 

The Brighton & Sussex Medical School, the Centre for Sustainable Healthcare, and the UK Health Alliance on Climate Change have released a report providing a comprehensive insight into the relationship between healthcare and climate.

The report reveals that surgical procedures are among the largest individual contributors to the resource consumption of the healthcare system, accounting for approximately 27% of the financial expenditure of NHS England and an estimated 5.7 million tonnes of CO2eq per year.

Summarizing current findings and offering a wealth of recommendations, the report does not overlook the topic of Medical Remanufacturing. Medical and ancillary products, especially single-use items, significantly contribute to emissions in the operating room.

The manufacturing and distribution of medical materials significantly contribute to global healthcare-related greenhouse gas emissions. However, healthcare professionals and procurement teams can influence these emissions. Existing solutions include applying circular economy principles to reduce the carbon footprint through remanufacturing.

The circular economy concept advocates that products, at the end of their useful life, should become raw materials for other products, rather than becoming waste. This approach maximizes resource and energy utilization, following the principles of Reduce, Reuse, Renew, and Recycle.

Several studies have demonstrated that remanufacturing leads to a reduction in carbon emissions, reaching up to 50% in the case of electrophysiology catheters, for example. Remanufacturing offers a lot benefits: the report indicates its economic viability for hospitals, especially when products can be refurbished multiple times.

 

Sources:

Green Surgery Report 2023

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, James Elliot, Barts Health NHS Trust

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, Nicola Hill, Leeds General Infirmary

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, Becky Whiteway, Royal Devon University Hospital

Case Study – Remanufacturing Electrosurgical Instruments, Louisa Taylor, Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust

New Posts

Vanguard AG wins Climate Saver Award 2024!

Vanguard AG wins Climate Saver Award 2024!

On June 11, 2024, we were awarded first place in the "Small Institutions/Companies" category at the Climate Saviour Award ceremony in Leverkusen. The event took place on the premises of Pronova BKK, and we are incredibly proud that our outstanding team performance in...

Clean Solution: Our laboratory specializes in technical hygiene

Clean Solution: Our laboratory specializes in technical hygiene

Today, we're providing an insider's view into our operations. As you review the "Tasks and Test Areas of the Laboratory," you'll notice numerous abbreviations, technical terms, and standards. Our work adheres to strict standards and procedures, ensuring a safe...

News

„Green Surgery“ Bericht: Wie Großbritannien den OP klimafreundlicher gestaltet

„Während der Klimawandel die menschliche Gesundheit bedroht, trägt die Gesundheitsversorgung paradoxerweise zu diesem Problem bei.“ Die Brighton & Sussex Medical School, das Centre for Sustainable Healthcare und die UK Health Alliance on Climate Change haben einen Bericht veröffentlicht, der einen umfassenden Einblick gibt in den Zusammenhang von Gesundheitswesen und Klima.
28. November 2023
Blogbeitrag Bild Kopfbereich

„Green Surgery“ Bericht:
Wie Großbritannien den OP klimafreundlicher gestaltet

„Während der Klimawandel die menschliche Gesundheit bedroht, trägt die Gesundheitsversorgung paradoxerweise zu diesem Problem bei.“

 

Die Brighton & Sussex Medical School, das Centre for Sustainable Healthcare und die UK Health Alliance on Climate Change haben einen Bericht veröffentlicht, der einen umfassenden Einblick gibt in den Zusammenhang von Gesundheitswesen und Klima.

Dabei kam heraus: Operative Eingriffe gehören zu den größten Einzelursachen für den Ressourcenverbrauch des Gesundheitssystems und machen etwa 27 % der Finanzausgaben des NHS England und schätzungsweise 5,7 Millionen Tonnen CO2äq pro Jahr aus.

Der Bericht fasst alle aktuellen Erkenntnisse zusammen und enthält eine Fülle von Empfehlungen. Natürlich fehlt dabei das Thema Medical Remanufacturing nicht. Denn zu den Hauptverursachern von Emissionen im Operationssaal gehören Medizin- und Hilfsprodukte – insbesondere Einwegartikel.

Die Herstellung und der Vertrieb von medizinischem Material tragen zu einem großen Anteil der globalen Treibhausgasemissionen im Gesundheitswesen bei. Diese Emissionen, können jedoch von medizinischen Fachkräften und Beschaffungsteams beeinflusst werden. Lösungsansätze gibt es bereits: Die Grundsätze der Kreislaufwirtschaft können genutzt werden, um den Kohlenstoff-Fußabdruck zu verringern – also Remanufacturing.

Das Konzept der Kreislaufwirtschaft basiert auf der Idee, dass Produkte am Ende ihrer Nutzungsdauer als Ausgangsmaterial für andere Produkte dienen, anstatt als Abfall zu enden. Dieser Ansatz ermöglicht eine maximale Nutzung von Ressourcen und Energie und folgt den Prinzipien Reduzieren, Wiederverwenden, Erneuern und Recyceln.

Es wurde bereits in mehreren Studien nachgewiesen, dass die Wiederaufbereitung zu einer Verringerung des Kohlenstoffausstoßes führt, bei Elektrophysiologie-Kathetern bspw. bis zu 50%. Das Remanufacturing bringt gleich einen mehrfachen Gewinn: Der Bericht zeigt auf, dass sie diese Praxis für Krankenhäuser auch aus ökonomischer Sicht lohnt – insbesondere, wenn Produkte mehrfach aufbereitet werden können.

 

Quellen:

Green Surgery Report 2023

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, James Elliot, Barts Health NHS Trust

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, Nicola Hill, Leeds General Infirmary

Case Study – Remanufacturing EP Catheters, Becky Whiteway, Royal Devon University Hospital

Case Study – Remanufacturing Electrosurgical Instruments, Louisa Taylor, Royal Surrey NHS Foundation Trust

Aktuelle News

Vanguard AG gewinnt Klimaretter-Award 2024!

Vanguard AG gewinnt Klimaretter-Award 2024!

Am 11. Juni 2024 wurden wir bei der Verleihung des Klimaretter-Awards in Leverkusen mit dem ersten Platz in der Kategorie "Kleine Einrichtungen/Unternehmen" ausgezeichnet. Die Verleihung fand in den Räumen der Pronova BKK statt und wir sind unglaublich stolz, dass...

Saubere Lösung: Unser Labor für technische Hygiene

Saubere Lösung: Unser Labor für technische Hygiene

Wer die Liste zu „Aufgaben und Prüfgebiete des Labors“ zu Gesicht bekommt, dem springen Abkürzungen, Fachbegriffe, Paragraphen und Normen in die Augen. Die Arbeit dort folgt strengen Standards und Abläufen und sorgt insgesamt für einen sicheren Aufbereitungsprozess...